Policies for cardholders: FAQs

see also: Reciprocal borrowing - Inter-library loan (ILL)

1. How do I get a card?
2. What about cards for visitors? Non-residents?  Children?
3. As a cardholder, what am I responsible for?
4. What if I lose my card?
5. How private is my card information?
6. What can I borrow?
7. What can I borrow (under 18)?
8. How long can I keep what I borrow?
9. How do I request that material be held for me?
10. When is material due to be returned?
11. What are the fines for overdue items?
12. How do I pay for fines?
13. What if I've lost or damaged items I borrowed?
14. How do I renew items I've borrowed?
15. How do I return materials?

1. How do I get a card?

Library cards are available at no charge to permanent residents and real property owners of Collier County. For Collier County teachers residing outside of Collier County and seasonal lease holders, library cards are available for a fee (see below).

Cards can be obtained from any branch in the library system. An official photo identification is required. This identification must show your current Collier County street address as proof of residency when applying for, renewing, or replacing cards.

Any of the following documents is acceptable in applying: driver’s license, Florida Identification card, passport, other State identification, school/work photo identification card.

If your official photo identification does not have your current Collier County street address, one of the following documents must be presented as proof of residency or property ownership: driver's license, county property tax receipt, voter's registration card, State of Florida ID card, property deed or mortgage/annual lease agreement, utility bill, vehicle registration, or your telephone listing that includes street address.

Library staff will record the applicant's street address, official identification number, and either telephone number or e-mail address in the Library's database in order to facilitate communication with registered Library users. See below for Privacy.

2. What about cards for visitors? Non-residents? Children?

Library cards are available to non-resident County visitors and seasonal lease holders for a fee of $10 per month, $50 for 6 months, or $100 for 12 months. Photo identification, with permanent home address, is required; your local address can be confirmed verbally.

A child is eligible for a library card at birth; parents are encouraged to register their children for a library card before the child enters kindergarten. The child must be present in the library to receive or use his or her card.

A parent or legal guardian's signature is required on a minor's (under 16) library card. Identification of the parent/guardian is required, as described above. Parent/guardian must given written permission for their children to borrow videos rated PG and PG-13.

Young adults (age 16 or older) may obtain their own library cards. Identification as described above is required.

3. As a cardholder, what am I responsible for?

As a library cardholder, you are responsible for providing a valid telephone number or a valid email address upon application, and for updating the library about changes in address, telephone number, e-mail and/or name changes.

Cardholders assume responsibility for all materials borrowed on his/her card.

Cardholders acknowledge that loaning their library card to another person gives that person the right to pay fines and pick-up reserve materials on the cardholder's behalf, but that the responsibility for returning materials and paying fines still rests on the original cardholder.

4. What if I lose my card?

If your library card is lost or stolen, notify any branch of the library (preferably speaking to staff by phone). Replace a damaged or lost card for $1.00. Your library account must be cleared in full before a replacement card can be issued.

5. How private is my card information?

Contact information provided when applying for a library card is used solely to retrieve overdue materials, notify patrons of holds and overdue materials, or other library matters related directly to the user’s account. The Library does not engage in mass mailing, mass e-mailing, or telephone contact solicitations of any library users.

Library policy prohibits staff from releasing any information about library card holders -- including what materials are checked out or overdue and personal information such as telephone numbers and addresses -- to anyone other than to the specific library card holder. (Florida Statute 257.261).

If you misplace, or lose your card, library staff will not disclose your card number to you via phone or email requests because your identity cannot be verified.

You may maintain a reading history that lists your borrowed items. This information would be retained on our library server. You must opt-in in order to begin a reading history, and you may opt out at any time, which deletes your list. No information from your list is retained when you opt-out.

The Library contracts with well-established vendors for downloadable audiobooks and ebooks. Although your library card is authenticated by the vendor, no information is retained by the vendor after the borrowing transaction, and no information is entered on your library account. This privacy practice on the part of our vendors has been confirmed by an outside agency.

Library cards are set to expire every three years. Card expiration date is included in your online account. To renew an expired card, simply visit any library location in person. For your privacy and security, expired cards cannot be renewed remotely over the phone or via email.

6. What can I borrow?

Library cardholders can borrow books, audiobooks (CD), videos (DVD), and music CDs. Additionally, cardholders can download ebooks and audiobooks, and access digital magazines and other eresources. These latter uses are not placed on your library account and are managed by our vendors and yourself as library patron using your device and installed app as needed.

Patrons must present their library card for all borrowing transactions. Materials will not be loaned without the patron's card, nor loaned to a patron using the card of another patron.

At the time of the borrowing transaction, patrons are issued a receipt that indicates date due of the materials. Different types of materials have different loan periods (see below).

7. What can I borrow (under 18)?

Cardholders 18 years of age and older may borrow all materials. Cardholders under 18 cannot borrow R-rated, unrated, or foreign film videos. Cardholders under 17 can borrow non-juvenile materials. A permission form signed by parents is required for cardholders under 17 to borrow PG and PG-13 rated videos.

Most materials can be renewed once and be held on request for pickup at your designated branch. See the next section for loan period policies.

8. How long can I keep what I borrow?

Books and audiobooks, including children's, can be borrowed for 3 weeks and renewed up to 8 times for additional 3 week periods, unless another borrower has requested the material. High demand bestsellers, videos, and music CDs can be borrowed for 1 week and renewed up to 8 times for additional 1 week periods unless another borrower has requested the material.

There are no limits to the number of books, audiobooks, or music CDs that may be checked out on one transaction or cumulatively. There is a limit of ten (10) videos.

There is a limit of 10 outstanding hold requests on any combination of materials.

(adult, children's, YA, PBK)
3 weeks no limit yes 8
1 week no limit yes 8
(adult, children's)
3 weeks no limit yes 8
(adult, children's)
1 week no limit yes 8
VIDEOS 1 week 10 yes 8
MAGAZINES, non-current* 3 weeks no limit no 8
MAGAZINES, non-current
3 weeks no limit no 8
(by request only)
overnight 1 no no

* available for borrowing from some locations only.
** Limit ten (10) outstanding holds at any time, any combination of materials.

Renewals cannot be processed for titles for which there are outstanding hold requests.

9. How do I request that material be held for me?


You can request most library materials using our online catalog or in person at any library location.

Material can be requested online by selecting the Request button on the catalog record and entering your name, card number, and pick-up location in the request form. The catalog record displays how many hold requests are outstanding for how many copies the Library has.

Click the Request button to open the request form. If you expect to request multiple titles, log in to your account first so that you do not have to repeatedly input your name and library card number.

A limit of ten (10) active requests may be maintained at the same time.

Patrons are notified of the arrival of their requests via email. Requested material will be held at your pick-up location for five (5) days before the item is returned to the collection and the hold request expires.

10. When is material due to be returned?

At the time of the borrowing transaction, patrons are issued a receipt that indicates date due of the materials. Materials become overdue at the end of this due date and begin to accrue overdue fines. The amount of the overdue fine depends on the type of material (see below). Note that holidays during which the library is closed are not included in the calculation of loan periods or return dates.

See item 15. below on how to return materials to the library.

11. What are the fines for overdue items?

You will receive a courtesy notice of overdue items by email only (if you chose email in your account as your preferred method of notification}. Non-reception of courtesy notices does not exempt patrons of responsibility for overdue materials. Checkout receipts have the Renewal line phone number printed on them for your convenience.

per day
Book (all hard and soft cover) $0.25 $10 actual cost
Paperback (PBK) $0.25 $10 actual cost
Audiobook $0.25 $10 actual cost
Music CD $0.25 $10 actual cost
Movies (DVD & Blu-ray) $1 $10 actual cost
Periodicals, non-current $0.25 $5 cover price

Internet computer usage without library card $5 for 2 hours
Printouts or photocopies $0.15 per page
Microform printouts $0.25 per page
Lost or damaged library card replacement $1
Damaged book covers, media containers $1
Processing fee for lost/damaged items $5 per item
Maximum fine before library service is denied $10
Non-resident library card $10 per month, or $50 per 6 months, or $100 per 12 months

12. How do I pay for fines?

You may pay fines at any time you next visit the library. At check-out you may be informed of outstanding fines, for which you can pay at that time or postpone payment.

You may pay for fines totalling $10.00 or more using a major credit card or PayPal account. Log in to your account and follow the payment procedures. The My Account feature uses SSL technology and is a secure site.

13. What if I've lost or damaged items I borrowed?

If items are not returned within 28 days of due date, the item is considered lost. If items are returned in unusable condition, the item is considered damaged.

Both lost items and damaged items incur a non-refundable processing fee of $5.

See a complete chart of fines and fees at 11. above.

The cost to replace a lost book, audiobook or video is the actual cost as recorded at the time the item was added to the collection. The library cannot accept replacement items in lieu of payment. We apologize for any inconvenience.

14. How do I renew items I have borrowed?

You may renew materials in person (with the material in hand), via automated telephone, or online via our website using My Account. Library staff cannot renew your materials by telephone on your behalf.

To renew in person bring your item and library card to the circulation desk of any library location.

To renew materials by phone, call our computer directly at (239) 593-7719. Follow the automated instructions, having your items and library card available to expedite your transaction. NOTE: The automated telephone renewal system processes one item per call and requires inputting your library card number and the bar code of the item you are renewing. The Library strongly urges using the My Account feature of the website for renewals (see next).

To renew materials through our website, access the My Account feature (also accessible from any library web page from the top navigation bar).

15. How do I return materials?

All materials, including audio and video, may be returned to any library location regardless of where the material was originally checked out in the Collier County library system. Drop boxes are located at all libraries for returning materials when the library is closed. If separate drops are available for audio/video materials and for books, please place only books in the book slot and only videos and CDs in the audio/video slot.

When returning materials to drop boxes, securely place materials within the drop box. The Library cannot be responsible for items left outside of drop boxes, at front entrances, or on loading docks. When returning materials within the library, please be sure to fully deposit them in the drop boxes by the front desk. Do not leave items on a front desk counter without handing them directly to staff.

If you return items to a drop box, your account may not reflect the status of your returned item right away (for example, days on which a return location is closed). However, when items are checked-in, returned items are set to account for library closures.

If you are returning materials and also want to check out new materials and have reached a loan period or other maximum, please return your materials inside the library so that your items may be checked-in promptly and you do not exceed your borrowing limits.

Other policy questions or concerns? Contact us


Collier County Public Library
2385 Orange Blossom Drive
Naples, Florida 34109
Administration: (239) 593-3511
Information: (239) 593-0334
Collier County Government

 WiFi at every library location